Do Pro D Days Exist…

when we home learn our children?

My children are enrolled in a school with a home learners program that has an optional 2 day a week program. With that they get the same notices as all the kids at the school, including the Pro D notices. My children see and read these notices before I get a glimpse at them. With a ‘YAY Pro D Friday’ they dance around crazy. The thing is they do not go to the school in Fridays; they go on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Professional days are for the teachers to attend conferences or have meetings or whatever  to discuss something important to do with the education of the kids. With the partnership and guidance of their teacher I do the teaching. If ever I decided to attend a conference for home learners then can have a pro d day. Not have one because everyone else does! They do not have Pro D Days! They should be learning something while everyone else is running a muck. I believe this to be true with every fiber of my being.

The problem is that we are the only family in our immediate neighbourhood that home learns. Because of this at about 9am on a Friday morning I hear a knock at the door. I open it to find a with a child with a ear to ear grin on their face asking if they can play with my children. If I say no then I will have a sweet little child pouting at me, then turn around inside and have 2 more sweet children pouting at me. (children have a natural survival gift to look sweet and innocent while pouting)

So, what to do? What to do?

I’m a sucker!

I have never turned down that child at the door.

I should. I should  say no without any guilt too! I should say no with authority! Or extreme immaturity and scream ‘GO AWAY!”. I should  not even open that bloody door!

But I do…

and probably will again in just a couple weeks from now. Depressing, I know. Weak, I know. Laughable, I know.  I am a sucker, I know.

But what would you do?

Leave a comment

Filed under Pro D's?, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

