A view of the world through …

.. the eyes of the my children.

As part of my children’s fine art I have them take photo’s. My daughter has got a great camera that is bang resistant and water resistant in case it falls into a puddle. Essentially it is kid proof. I have created photo blogs for the both of them to share their photo’s with their teacher.

But I got a thought today as I was uploading a few of their best photo’s to their blogs. Their view of the world and my new quote of the week (to the right). I wondered to myself if one reason why we miss the opportunities to do good in the world is because at that moment we have a sour view of the world. We may have just received a call from our mother in law or a bill collector. Or we may have ran into our bank manager while shopping for a new flat screen T.V. or/and found out that our mother in law is great friends with our bank manager. Whatever the reason we sometimes find our self in a ‘this world is out to get me’ state of mind. When we are there we are not in a very helpful I AM MY BROTHERS KEEPER high positive energy space so chances are when we see a need we say ‘bah humbug!’ in our own chosen words.

So then, if we see the world as out to get us then maybe  a good way to change how we feel is to change the way we view the world. This is where a camera is good. This is where giving a kid a camera is better. I think kids see parts of the world we pass by without notice. A tree stump or a mushroom or rain become something beautiful. Even something to appreciate.

I’ll share my children’s blog with you too in case you want to see:

Elan | Aden

If you notice there are not too many photo’s in there. I have to admit I only put the good flix in. Most of Elan’s pics looks something like this:

 

er yeah…I see that is is part of a forest or bushes, but exacly what she was looking at I have no clue either.

or like this:

 

that's a littlest pet shop and a pen. I don't know why.

However, I do like the fact that she is really looking at the world. Like, really looking. Obviously very closely too. I hope that putting a camera in front of her eyes at 7 years will train her brain to never stop seeing the interesting things in everything and in doing so maybe she will never develop a sour view of the world so that she can always take the opportunity to help another out.

How do you change the way you see the world when you are all grump-a-lump? I wouldn’t mind knowing because I am up to try most ways.

16 Comments

Filed under Kid Photography

16 responses to “A view of the world through …

  1. That is sweet! My kids have those cameras too and I always love to see the funny things they take pictures of!
    Katie
    {visiting from the Hip Homeschool Hop}

  2. It’s very interesting to see the world through a child’s eyes. Giving your kids a camera is a terrific idea!

    For me, when I start seeing everything sourly or bitterly, I try to remind myself how fortunate I am and how grateful I should be instead of focusing on the negative things. It isn’t always easy but I try my best to be as positive as I can be.
    You have a lovely blog!

    • Thank-you! (it changes often hehe ) I also try to think of all the thins I am grateful for but sometimes I get called away in mid thought so I remain a little grumpy for longer than what I would like. One day I should get a ‘mommy in thought – come back later’ T-shirt or hat or tiara, it may help.

  3. I really think that the more we ask our kids to look at things the better people they become. Your kids are going to see the world in a different way than kids who only look at the surface.

  4. What fun — what kind of camera do your kids have? My daughter gets ahold of mind which scares me.

    • Hi! Thanks for the comment. I know how you feel about the kids and our camera. She has a Fugifilm XP Finpix I think either 10 0r 12. It is water t, shock, dust and freeze resistant (and it comes in pink) Semi expensive but it is worth it because it is hard to break 🙂

  5. You must know my mother-in-law! Seriously though, you make a wonderful point about perspectives. I love to let my kids use the camera and see what they come up with. Once I downloaded 87 pictures of American Girl dolls!

    xoxo
    Sara
    http://www.shinyredhouses.blogspot.com

    PS. I am here through the hop!

  6. My 6 yr old enjoys taking pictures too and like to take them of his stuffed animals 😉 Occasionally in the past I would take pics of his lego creations and artwork too.

    Found you at the Homeschool Hop!

  7. Hoppin’ by on the Hip Homeschool Hop! That is a great idea to have them have photo blogs. My son runs off with my camera all the time. 🙂 I usually just use his shots in my blog. 🙂

  8. Stopping by from HHH. When my daughter was about 8 she entered a kids photography contest/exhibit. She took great pictures of tree branches. They fascinated her. She did not care about winning a ribbon but she was thrilled to see her photos displayed at a local library. Giving them a creative outlet to express themselves is wonderful!

  9. I am enjoying your perspective. I was going to ask what kind of camera is great and kid proof, but see the answer in the comments. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

