Pocket Garden – share the seeds.

Are you like me?

Do you buy a ton of books for your children too?

I buy my children books all the time. They finish the book in a day and then it just sits there on the shelf itself becoming a book end.

So I take my children to the library. We get a host of books and they finish those in just a few days. Honestly, my middle will stay up all night reading everything in site. My little one reads all she can, then I read or she gets either of her two older brother read to her, then takes a last glimpse at the pictures inside and leaves it. Usually in the middle of the stair way.

Then I hear my children say just before bed “MooOOOooommmm….we got nothing to reeeeaaad….”

I walk in and find them staring at the compressed books fighting for a millimeter of space on the tall shelf unit.

homeschool bookshelf

does yours look like this too?

I begin to stare at it too.I get a little bit closer and start to pull out random books.

‘read it, read it, read it, read it’ my children mutter to me.

I stand back and take a look at this big piece of furniture holding things that no one is going to use ever again.

I see a problem. I realize that I partially home school my children but does not that mean I should have an actual library in my house.

Do you have this same problem?

Well the obvious answer is to get rid of all the books. Easy peasy right? I find that it is harder than one thinks to get rid of used children books.

Every so often when I am out with hubby running errands I notice a drop box for books and silly me never thinks to take a mental note of where that is.Oh well, so I think of another way.

I think of who I can unload this stuff to. I give a call.

Me – “I got a ton of good books that are not ripped that my children do not need anymore. I was wondering what I should do with them then I thought of you. Would you like to have them?”

Her – “Thank-you for thinking of us but I got no space”

Another call.

Me – “I got some really nice books that my children do not want anymore. I was wondering what I should do with them then I thought of you. Would you like to have them?”

Her -“Thank-you but no thanks”

Another call.

Me – “I got some really nice books that my children do not want anymore….”

Her -“No”

I wondered if they were calling each other warning that I was scouting who I can dump used books to.

So what do we do with all  these books?

Well I got a notices from the school board letting us know about their lack of cash. It got me thinking….

I donated them to the school library. Honestly about 70 books. Did you know that you can do that? Even if you home school and have no contact with the local school give them a call and ask. More than likely they will be happy to at least take a look at the books you have. It’s an easy and cute little way to support a large group of kids.

This was in June and guess what? Their book shelf is full again and I got 3 book order flyers sitting right next to me. Help me. I’m about to write another cheque…

What do you do with all your old books?

Leave a comment

Filed under What To Do Woth Old....

Leave a Reply

