Potatoes – A Threat to Take Seriously

Home learning is really fun but at times gets a little difficult.

This week I used the big threat.

No, the big threat.

It’s actually bigger than that, I used

woe...I know...

I told my children if they don’t knock it off I am  sending them to the public school!

I never thought I would say that to my children but my two little smarty pants wanted to test the waters. They started to not take me seriously as their teacher.

They said they hadn’t seen that episode of some child cartoon and really wanted to see it. I told them I would record it and they could watch the rest at lunch.

They said the table cloth felt icky and couldn’t work on it. So I took it off. ( it really wasn’t and I couldn’t find what they were talking about but I also didn’t want to argue about a phantom syrup drip)

They wanted second breakfast right before we started. So I gave them a snack.

They fidgeted at the table. So I moved them to the floor.

They complained that the sound of pencil on paper creeped them out like finger’s down a chalk board. So I gave them a pen.

Their hands went crazy by accident that left a streaks of ink across their work sheet. So I printed off a new one and sternly warned them that “crazy hands” would end up in a time out along with their owner if they go crazy again.

They complained they didn’t like the pen they got. I said “I don’t care, get back to work.”

As you can see my patience went to virtually non existent fairly quickly. But that is because I knew what those two were up to. They were hoping to break me so that they can play video games and monster high all day. It didn’t work.

I actually haven’t home schooled for a full year yet. I have over come some the new home learning common problems (what to teach, how to teach, the schedule ect) So the kids testing how serious I take their education was bound to happen sooner or later.

A small plate with a serving of mashed potatoes.

We could only dream potatoes were the solution to everything.

As The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy advised  “It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.” I think sending idle threats to the kids is also a mistake.

I was thinking what I could have done.

I could have….

closed everything up and have them run around the field outside to get their extra energy out.

Or…

end that lesson quickly and have them do some arts and crafts. They were being rather creative after all.

I guess with this post I am sortta kinda a little bit fishen’ for support? I am wondering if other home learning children test their parents decision on home learning; or test their patience or test something using their education as an hostage? If so what do you do?

4 Comments

Filed under Random Mommy Home School Stuff

4 responses to “Potatoes – A Threat to Take Seriously

  1. I think it’s a child’s job to test this and every other aspect of parenting. Even though I don’t do formal lessons with B, she still manages to find things to argue about. It’s just part of growing up and figuring out where they can assert themselves. You’re definitely not alone.

    • awee… thank-you! It is good to know that I am not alone with home learning testing of us moms. It just happened to be a very bad day and I still can’t figure out why (maybe the moon?). I do hope these days are few and far between. 🙂

  2. We have had a few of those kind of days! I can remember making that very same threat once. I was so hurt that I said it, they were hurt that I said it. But in that moment (well, actually it took a huge build up of utter chaos to bring me to that point) I didn’t know what else to do or say. Nothing seemed to be getting through to them. That statement worked. They actually stopped bickering, they buckled down and really tried hard. We haven’t had too many days like that since, thank goodness. Whenever we are having one of those kind of days, we try to regroup. I’ve also noticed these meltdowns happen more often at the end of the week, when everyone needs a little down time.

    I’ve passed on The Versatile Blogger Award to you. Enjoy visiting your blog!
    http://lifenbetween.blogspot.com/2011/01/versatile-blogger-award.html

    • I too was shocked and hut when it came flying out of my mouth. Good to know that I am not the only parent who said that. I still feel a bit guilty. It did work. They did calm down but that is not the way I want to get them to settle. Regrouping sounds like a good idea. I will try that. If that does not work then I think we will go outside and get some fresh air and burn some energy. Thank-you for the award!

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

