Escape your kids..VOLUNTEER!

No Problem! I will leave the kids with hubby too!

Well, the year is beginning to start. All the committees I am on voted in their chairs and work plans are coming into place.

I love to volunteer. I always fee inspired when I am doing the work weather the work is politicized or hard labour. I really feel alive.

I love the opportunity to spend time with my neighbours whom I would not normally see and meet people I would not normally meet.

Most importantly, I love conversations that have nothing to do with Monster High or Bone books!

I live in a neighbourhood that is filled with committees that help keep our neighbourhood safe, beautiful, growing and running properly. Escapism in the form of volunteering is readily available to me.

I just realized when doing my calendar how many committees I am on.

6

On each committee there are monthly meetings to attend: the first Monday of the month or the second Tuesday or the Third Wednesday.

Some of the committees are very sweet and the meetings take all of 5 minutes.

Though my kids think they take 30.

That is because myself and the other moms and grand-moms sit around the table and chit chat for the other 25 minutes. Sometimes we lose track of time and the hubby and kiddo’s think it was 40!

This week I had a meeting on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and tonight – Thursday.

I had a great week!

How was your week?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Escape your kids..VOLUNTEER!

  1. We wrote poetry this week so it was awesome!

  2. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my Trials and Triumphs blog. I actually blog “regularly” at my website http://www.mommahen.com these days. I’ve been browsing through your posts as I’ve had a chance this evening and I’ve bookmarked you so I can come back and catch up some more. Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

